Home > Rants > My New Streetlight…for my balcony

My New Streetlight…for my balcony

Street Lamp

Street Lamp

 So I’m walking around Target this morning with my kids…just to buy milk. I ended up finding more than milk. I love shopping Target Clearance Events. These people know how to clear product lines out. While wandering around back in the Outdoor Patio section, I stumble upon these outdoor patio lamps that are designed to resemble the older street lamps of the earlier 1900’s. These lights are normally onwards of $80 and up. I glanced down at the clearance sticker….$34.17…yes, for the one I am holding. The single lamp version didn’t have a sticker on it, but guessing by other similar models, it was probably around $20-$22. I want you to realize the value on this…I am 6’3. I am only holding the lamp off the ground by an inch or so. Now, this pciture was taken when I came back to the store 10 hours later, hoping it would still be there. As soon as I saw it, I picked it up and didn’t put it down. Even when my friend Kim was wanting to look at hairsprays, health beauty items, Husker shirts….still carried it. I felt somewhat like a cross between Paul Revere and the Statue of Liberty. Other shoppers around the store were watching me as I would pick up the lamp, walk ten feet down the aisle, set it down to look at something, then pick it back up and walk a few feet more and repeat. One of the guys that works there walked up to me and commented on how the lamp near the toiletries area (Kim was looking at travel size products) added a nice outdoorsy look to the pharmacy area. He then talked to me for a few minutes. I don’t know if he was trying to pick me up or what the deal was, but the chat seemed completely out of place. People at check outs were equally entertaining with their comments about me lighting up their life, illuminating personality, shedding some light on the subject….wow. Seemed like it would never end.

So now the lamp is sitting on my balcony, adding an elegant touch to an otherwise incomplete outdoor patio atmosphere that happens to be on a third floor balcony. Once I can figure out how to get a fountain out there, I can have a bistro…

Categories: Rants Tags: , , , ,
  1. 09/04/2008 at 15:17

    You Bastard! You stole my lamp!!! I was totally gonna get that.

  2. 09/04/2008 at 15:20

    I kid! You’re not a bastard; I don’t even know anything about your parentage. We do have eerily similar taste in Target clearance Items though.

  3. Boston
    10/19/2008 at 18:22

    Legitimacy of parentage issue tabled, because I magnanimously forgive yo’ momma if it’s so…bein’s as I like you and the photo brings Diogenes and The Seeker/Hermit to mind (too many Tarot dex, not enough time!) I have some great lamps in my front yard, would loved to have scored these for the nature preserve out back! They lasted 10 hours…Cross ‘n I missed ’em, go figger. Dayum, Dude, must be livin’ right… Karma had your back.Send me some, kiddo. And cherish this feedback. Love the venue, you need to write more:) DaCrone

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

